Week 2

This week I really tried hard to make sure all of our dinners were as close to 100% local as possible.  This meant using mostly frozen vegetables for sides since, oh yeah, it’s still winter.  I went back to Clancy’s Meat and Fish Market and grabbed, pork, beef, chicken and soup!  I also got to talk to the woman behind the counter to get some  pointers on the best way to cook my chicken.  Bonus of the week?  I free loaf of French Bread!!  Yeah!!!   Alright…. off to the meals…

Sunday- Pork Chops, Peas and Potatoes
Pork Chops from Clancy’s, frozen peas from Sno Pac and Potatoes from Wisconsin!  I love the potato in the hat on the bag:)  I know it’s not Minnesota grown but it’s our neighbor so I wanted to give it a shot.

Making oven roasted potatoes is way easier than you’d think.  Once they’re in the oven you don’t really have to think about them until the timer goes off.

Oven Roasted Potatoes
4-5 potatoes (depends on the size you start with)
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees.  Wash and cut your potatoes into bite sized cubes leaving the skins on.  Drizzle with enough olive oil to coat the potatoes and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Pop them in the oven for 25-30 minutes tossing about half way through.

Variations:
Add herbs with the salt and pepper before roasting
Sprinkle some shredded parmesan cheese over top with about 5 minutes left

Monday- Spaghetti

Ok, I wasn’t home to make dinner on Monday night.  I really thought my husband would go to his usual ‘Beanie Weenies’ but he surprised me by making a homemade dinner and taking a picture with his phone to share with you.

He used Wee Willy’s spaghetti sauce from here in Afton, Minnesota and some frozen corn from Sno Pac.  He also buttered up some of the french bread from Clancy’s for the side.

Tuesday- Chicken and Wild Rice

Tuesday we tried some oven roasted chicken breast, skin on, bone in.  I was a little nervous about this because in the past I ended up with a piece of under done chicken…..gross.  This time was much more successful.  I had done, juicy chicken with crispy skin!

We also replaced regular white rice with some Minnesota grown wild rice I found at Kowalski’s.  It’s been pretty amazing what I’ve been able to find there that’s local.

Oh, and as you can see we had broccoli with melted cheese, or melted cheese with broccoli if the Hubs is making it.

Wednesday-Potato Bacon Soup

This was, by far, the easiest meal to make this week.  All I had to do was but the frozen soup from Clancy’s in a pot and turn it on.  Unfortunately the French bread that was left was really stale, so we went back to having saltines instead.  We also had a small side salad of romaine and cherry tomatoes (not local).

The soup was pretty good, I was a little disappointed that there weren’t real chunks of potato in it, it was more of a potato puree.  There were plenty of other soups in the freezer to try for next time though:)

Thursday- Steak day

Thursday we had Ribeye steaks from Clancy’s (so good!) potatoes, and salad.  You really can’t go wrong with steak and potatoes.  But I think we need to put some more green on our plate, it’s looking kind of beige this week.

I’ll be going for some more green veggies for next week and see what other options I have outside of Kowalski’s and Clancy’s.  I also really need to figure out the whole lunch and breakfast part of the equation.  We’ll see what I find:)

One thought on “Week 2

  1. Pingback: Week of January 30th | mmmMinneapolis

Leave a Reply

