Week of January 30th

Sunday & Monday

Sunday we made cheeseburgers using ground beef from Thousand Hills Cattle Company and hamburger buns from the Linden Hills Co-op.  Potatoes were from the bag I bought last week and we used some frozen spinach from Sno Pac.

To make the spinach a little bit more exciting I used a side dish recipe from real simple.  I also used the roasted potato recipe from last week but used some rosemary to make them a little more tasty.  Since we were able to make 4 patties out of the package of ground beef, we had the leftovers for dinner the next night too!

Sauteed Spinach
– 1 tablespoon olive oil
– kosher salt and black pepper
– 4 scallions, sliced
– 1/4 cup golden raisins
– 10 oz. spinach (about 16 loosely packed cups

Add oil to pan and bring to medium heat.  Add scallions and golden raisins and cook, stirring for 30 seconds.  Add the spinach and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper. Cook, tossing, until just wilted, 1 to 2 minutes

Tuesday
I was really excited to make pot roast on Tuesday.  I love coming home to the smell of dinner not just cooking, but ready to serve.  I used a real simple recipe for Sweet and Spicy Asian Pork Shoulder and it’s one that I’ve used before and had good luck.

Unfortunately this time it didn’t turn out so great.  I had only gotten a 1 pound roast instead of the 2.5 pounds that it calls for.  I thought that since the recipe has you cut it up into 2 inch pieces, I could leave my roast whole and let it cook all day.  Well, not so much…  It was cooked all the way through and fell a part easy but it came out so dry!  I was really disappointed.  The Hubs was nice enough to eat what I gave him but as soon as I told him I couldn’t finish it and was making a peanut butter sandwich, he requested one too.  Oh well, live and learn right?

Wednesday

Wednesday we made veggie pasta.  I used the basil and garlic pasta I bought at the Co-op and topped it off with broccoli, chopped walnuts and garlic.

I cooked the pasta like usual and to make the broccoli, I used the spinach recipe and just changed a couple of ingredients.

Broccoli with Garlic and Walnuts
– 1 package frozen broccoli
– 1/2 cup copped walnuts
– 2 cloves garlic
1 Tablespoon olive oil
– salt and pepper to taste

Add oil to pan and bring to medium heat.  Add garlic and cook, stirring for 1-2 minutes.  Add the broccoli and walnuts with ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper. Cook, tossing, until broccoli is cooked through, around 8 minutes.

Friday
Friday we tried the Chicken and Wild Rice with Bacon soup from Clancy’s.  It was really, really good!  Nice sized pieces of chicken and bacon with veggies.  I’m so disappointed though, because this is the second week in a row I forgot to take a picture to share with you.   I’ll definitely be picking this soup up again and hopefully show you how good it looks.

Saturday

For lunch yesterday I made hot ham and cheese.  We’d made ham sandwiches throughout the week to bring to work for lunch, but it tasted so much better warmed through with melted cheddar cheese!

They’re super easy to make.  Just make yourself a ham sandwich like you normally would and toast it in a pan on the stove over medium heat.  The trick is to butter the outside of your sandwich so it gets that perfect golden brown on the outside.  It also helps keep the sandwich from sticking.  You have to be sure to watch them and flip regularly to avoid any burnt edges.

We had warmer temperatures in Minneapolis this week, high of 33!!  Here’s hoping the groundhog was right!  Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

