Marshmallows!!!!!

I’m just gonna start off by saying marshmallows are the greatest thing on earth.  There’s just nothing compared to a toasted, gooey, sticky marshmallow.  I’ve been known to nuke them in the microwave when a campfire isn’t available.  Now that that’s out of the way, I’ll show you how I made them…

Making marshmallows from scratch is a little more difficult than I expected, but it was fun to learn.  I used the recipe available in ‘Jam it, Pickle it, Cure it’.  It was super easy to follow and the pictures are great!

First up, I put some gelatin on the side with some water to set…. I had to do this 3 times.  First time I didn’t add enough, second time too much and I had to talk the Hubs into making a trip to the grocery store for me, thank you!

While that was happening I mixed water, sugar and corn syrup in a pot on the stove and started cooking to get to the right temp according to the candy thermometer.  Found out the hard way you need to have enough liquid to come about 2 inches up on the thermometer to get a read on the temperature.  This meant a second trip to the grocery store for the Hubs because at that point I was out of corn syrup, again, thanks!

The second try, I used a smaller pot to get a deeper read on the temperature and I was able to get the marshmallows going.  Once the mixture was warm enough, I added it to the gelatin and started mixing.  It took about 15 minutes but it went from cloudy liquid to white gooey awesomeness.  At this point, it looked like the marshmallow topping you can buy for ice cream.  We talked about adding this to homemade ice cream later this summer.

After it’s mixed I spread the mixture in a powdered sugared pan and let it cool.  After it reached room temperature, I cut the marshmallows into roughly 2 inch squares and dredged them in more powdered sugar to keep them from getting to sticky.  They’ve stored really well and are just as tasty on a bowl of ice cream as they are melted in a s’more:)

Leave a Reply

