Asparagus and Cream Sauce

Along with the CSA, I’ve been finding more local veggies available at the Co-op lately too.  I was really excited to find Minnesota grown asparagus this last week.  To keep it front and center for dinner, I paired it with a simple pasta and cream sauce.

For the asparagus, I cut it down to size and cooked it up with a little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper until it was tender.  In the meantime, I got the water boiling and the pasta cooking.

Once the pasta was done, I followed the recipe for this cream sauce at Real Simple (obviously I skipped the salad).  I used Cedar Summit Farms Cream and local parmesan cheese, both from the Co-op.  After the cream thickened I dished up the pasta and topped it off with asparagus. YUM!  It’s the perfect amount of cream for pasta.  It doesn’t get to heavy and it’s a great base for any other vegetables you might have fresh in your neck of the woods.

One thought on “Asparagus and Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Freezing Asparagus | mmmMinneapolis

Leave a Reply

