Winehaven Mead

I recently got around to trying mead for the first time, made by Winehaven Wineries in Chisago City,MN.  The mead is made with the honey from the bees they keep on the vineyard.   They also have a variety of other wines, both red and white, that are available at various liquor stores throughout Minnesota.

The honey really comes through and it’s a very sweet drink.  I always pictured mead being downed by the gallon by big hairy guys at renaissance fairs, so the sweetness caught me off guard.  I think it would go well with a strong cheese or something else on the savory side but I don’t think it’s something I’ll grab to go with dinner on a regular basis.

One thought on “Winehaven Mead

Leave a Reply

