Zucchini Tian

Last week for we tried something new to bring to work for lunch.  We were getting pretty stuck in a rotation of ham, turkey, or tuna salad sandwiches.  Zucchini Tian seemed like a nice, warm change of pace.  Not to mention a great new way to use the zucchini we had from the backyard garden.

I got the recipe from The Illustrated Step by Step Cook.  Every time I pick it up I think about more things I’d like to try, it’s full of really great pictures.  Anyway, back to the Tian.

First things first, I chopped up our zucchini and got it cooking in a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper.  We were able to get the 2 1/4 pounds needed from the 1 zucchini The Hubs had pulled from the garden.  Awesome!  As you can see, it barely fit in my poor little pan.

While that was cooking I chopped up 2 small onions and 3 cloves of garlic.  Once the zucchini was done, I popped it out of the pan on to a large cutting board and added more oil the chopped onion and garlic to the pan to sizzle until the onions were nice and soft but not browned.

While the onion mix was cooking, I chopped the zucchini up in to smaller pieces and started up about 1/3 cup of rice, cooking until it was not quite done.  When I was finished with the rice, I put the zucchini, onions and garlic, and rice into a bowl and mixed it up.  Then I added in some chopped up parsley and parmesan cheese.  The recipe called for 1/4 cup cheese but I like to go a little bit over when it comes to anything cheesy:)  Once it was thoroughly mixed, I then added in 2 eggs one at a time.  The recipe called for 3 but it was one of those days when you don’t realize it until you’re out of something until it’s too late, whoops!

When everything was well mixed I spread it all out into a a glass baking dish and popped it into the oven at 350 for 10-15 minutes and then bumped it up to 400 for another 10 -15 until it was nice a golden brown on the edges.

I really liked bringing the Tian in for lunch, it re-heated in the microwave pretty well and was a welcome change from sandwiches and pretzels.  I’ll definitely try making it again but I’m thinking about using their Spinach and Mushroom Variation they have listed out instead, yum!  I’ll also make sure I check and see how many eggs I have before I start!

Leave a Reply

