Stuffed Acorn Squash

Wow!  I can’t believe it’s been a full month since my last post!  October was a pretty crazy month for us but I think we have a moment of calm before the holiday season really starts to get started.

One of my favorite things about fall is all the squash we have!  Between the last delivery of CSA veggies and our own garden, our dining room table is just covered with a little bit of everything from butternut to spaghetti squash.  For acorn, I usually just chop it in half and pop in in the oven with olive oil and salt and pepper until it’s soft and ready to eat.  It’s really easy to do but we needed something to change it up.

I came across this recipe for stuffed acorn squash and altered it just a bit based on what we had on hand.  It started out in a pretty familiar way.  Cut your acorn squash in half and drizzle with olive oil.  Put in the oven at 350 for about 25 minutes until it’s just starting to get soft.  While I was waiting for that, I got started on the stuffing.

Here’s my list of ingredients for the stuffing

  • 6 ounces corn flour
  • 2 eggs
  • splash of milk
  • 2 teaspoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons of dried onion (used up the last raw onion the night before)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup chopped fresh mushrooms
  • 1 cup long grain and wild rice
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
First things first, I melted the butter in a skillet and added my onion and garlic.  After about 5 minutes I added in the mushrooms and let them cook for about another 5 minutes.  
Once the mushrooms had started to release some of their liquid, I added in the rice, gave it a quick stir and added in the vegetable stock.  Then I covered it and let it sit for about 35-40 minutes.
While that was cooking I made my own version of cornbread stuffing mix.  I couldn’t find a mix in the store but I found corn flour.  To mock up the stuffing mix I added 2 eggs and a splash of milk to the mix until I got a consistency that reminded me a little bit of a thicker cake batter.  I wanted to make sure it was going to be enough to bind the rice and mushroom mixture together once it was put into the squash.  When I got it to the right consistency I added in some dried thyme  and salt and pepper.
Once the rice was tender, I spooned in the corn flour mixture and combined until the rice and mushrooms were sticking together.  I started stuffing the squash.  I put enough spoonfuls of stuffing into the squash that it was coming up past the cut side of the squash.  Be careful handling the squash, it’ll still be pretty warm.
Once your happy with the amount of stuffing in each squash, pop them back in the oven for another 15 minutes at 350 or until the squash is tender and soft and the stuffing is hot.
TA DA!  Aren’t they pretty?  They tasted pretty good too.  However, I think next time I’ll add real onion for starters and add in more spices too to get more flavor.  It’s a really great place to start from though, and I’m glad we tried something different.

One thought on “Stuffed Acorn Squash

Leave a Reply

