It’s BACON!!!! part |||

When I last chatted with you, I was in the middle of roasting my slabs of pork belly in the oven, fat side up, patiently waiting for it to reach 150 degrees fahrenheit.  It ended up taking me a good 3 hours to get there.

Once the slabs all measured 150, I brushed all the surfaces with liquid smoke.  You can also smoke your belly on the grill but it’s just a little too cold for that right now, we’ll give it a shot this summer.  Make sure you clean/wipe up any and all liquid smoke or your kitchen will smell like a BBQ joint in the morning.  Found this out the hard way when I left my little prep bowl and pastry brush on the counter next to the sink instead of washing them out right away.

Once I brushed everything with the smoke, I wrapped each piece with two pieces of plastic wrap and aluminum foil.  Probably overkill but I really wanted to make sure everything was sealed properly.  I put two pieces in the freezer for some time later, and one in the fridge for tonight’s dinner.

I sliced a little more than half of the first pound.  I got really excited and relieved when I started cutting my slices and it looked like real, honest to god, bacon.  I don’t know why but I was afraid it was going to be off color or some weird texture, whew!

I fried the bacon up like I usually would in a skillet on the stove.  It smelled amazing and I was even more confident that I’d gotten it right.

When I’d finished the first round in the pan the Hubs and I had to have a quick taste test, no waiting until the rest of dinner was ready.  It was soooooo good, great way to start the weekend.

We had it with French Toast and scrambled eggs for dinner (a.k.a. Brinner).  I added a little drizzle of maple syrup for good measure:)  It’s my favorite way to eat bacon.

As much as I enjoyed the process of curing and cooking with my home bacon, it’s not a good way to cut cost on the grocery budget.  It was about $9 for a pound of the pork belly, so your looking at about $3 more than buying a pound of pre-sliced at the store.  Fun but not cost effective especially when you factor in your time.

One thought on “It’s BACON!!!! part |||

Leave a Reply

