Bacon Mashed Potatoes

Ok, ok.  I have one more post about my bacon and then we can move on, but I had to figure out what to do with the remainder of the pound of unsliced pork belly.  I tossed around the idea of bacon cheeseburgers or bacon wrapped something or other, then, I remembered the loaded mashed potatoes we’ve had at a steakhouse downtown.  My favorite part were the huge chunks of bacon that were all mixed in.

It was really easy to recreate.  I started boiling the potatoes (about 6 yukon golds, MN) on the stove in boiling water, cut into chunks, skin left on, and while that was plugging away I cut the remainder of my pork belly into smaller cubes.

I tossed the cubes in a frying pan on the stove and while they started sizzling I drained the potatoes (check with a fork for tenderness) and started mashing.  I like to leave a smidgen of water in with the potatoes and then add in a little milk to make them creamy.  The amount of milk is really up to you.  It all depends on how thick (or not) you want them to be.  I also added a couple of tablespoons of butter and salt and pepper to taste.

By the time the potatoes were done so was the bacon.  I scooped the the mega sized bacon bits on to a couple of paper towels and patted them dry, then right into the pot with the taters.  Stir them in and done!

They were so rich and creamy!  Definitely not very high up on the healthy side dish meter but, eh, they’re worth it.  It’s also an easy way to spice up something that you might already be making for dinner.  Even if you don’t have cubes of pork belly to work with, I don’t think you’d have any complaints if you crumbled up some cooked slices.

One thought on “Bacon Mashed Potatoes

Leave a Reply

