Pinterest Recipe of the Month- Blueberry-Balsamic Glazed Rosemary Chicken

This month for my Pinterest Recipe, I picked a recipe that utilized blueberries in a way other than dessert.  I’m really hoping that by next summer we’ll have more blueberries than we know what to do with, and we’ll be so tired of blueberry pies and jam we’ll need another way to use them up 🙂  Dream big right?

The recipe is originally pinned from Driscoll’s.com, you can find the full recipe here.  Since blueberries aren’t in season right now, I used some frozen Minnesota blueberries in place of fresh.  It worked just as well and still had full blueberry flavor.  I also used larger bone in, skin on chicken breast (also from Minnesota) in place of 4-6 boneless, skinless.  The weight ended up being about what was called for in the recipe and made more sense since it was just for the two of us.

To start off, I pre heated my oven and melted half of the butter and oil in a heavy bottomed pan.  When it was starting to bubble, seared the chicken until it had a nice golden brown finish.

Then I set the chicken off to the side in a baking dish and got started on the glaze.  I added the remaining oil and butter to the pan and then tossed in my chopped shallots.  They browned up really quickly, faster than suggested in the recipe.

With the shallots browned I added in the blueberries.  I’d rinsed and drained the blueberries first (actually, I talked the Hubs into doing it) before I added them to the pan.  They really steamed up because of the extra water.

Once the steam settled down, I added in the vinegar, syrup and salt and pepper.  It was at this point that I realized the rosemary, I was sure I had, was in fact gone.  Whoops!  Well, too late to turn back now.  The mixture simmered and reduced on the stove for about 10 minutes.  Driscoll’s recipe calls out the blueberries should collapse at this point, but since they were frozen and a little collapsed to begin with, I just followed the time.

I spooned the mixture over the chicken breast and popped the chicken in the oven.  It said it would only take about 10 minutes but in reality, it took about 30-35 minutes because of the size of the chicken.  Just keep checking it with a thermometer.

Overall it was a really tasty recipe.  It was a great way to spice up regular chicken breast and I liked that it only used two pans to make something that sounds so complicated.  Most of the ingredients you might already have on hand to make it even easier to whip up.  I’ll keep this guy on hand and maybe try the glaze on other meats from the grill throughout the summer.

One thought on “Pinterest Recipe of the Month- Blueberry-Balsamic Glazed Rosemary Chicken

Leave a Reply

