Freezing Asparagus

As I shared with you on Saturday, I made my first trip to the farmer’s market this weekend.  It was a damp, chilly day but there were a handful of booths open for business.

I picked up some morel mushrooms, asparagus and eggs to use with dinner throughout the week.  I’m excited to try the morel mushrooms but more on that later this week…  I bought a bit more asparagus than I normally would for a week (it’s not all pictured) because I’m determined to start freezing extra veggies this summer.  I put some thought into doing another CSA but I wanted to be able to better plan out what would be eating as well as be able to load up on things we liked rather than just getting one or two of something.  This way I’ll be able to stock our freezer and come winter, hopefully we’ll be able to enjoy a variety of summer vegetables that were all bought locally at the peak of their season.  Think of how great the taste of asparagus will be in November!

Freezing veggies is a fairly simple process called blanching.  To start off you’ll need to get a large pot of water to a rolling boil as well as another large pot, bowl or in my case a very well scrubbed out sink full of cold water and ice.  While I was waiting for the water to boil, I cleaned and trimmed down my asparagus to get rid of the woody ends.

Then once the water was boiling, in went the asparagus.  It’s best to do it in batches so your water stays nice and hot and you don’t loose your boil.  Leave the veggies cook in the water for about 1-2 minutes.  The idea is to get them started cooking but not close to done.  If you leave them in for too long you’ll end up with mush when you re-heat them later.

When the two minutes were up they went right into the ice water bath for another 1-2 minutes.  This stops the cooking process right away which is also important for avoiding mush later..

From there, I sorted out my batches in to even portions.  I went for roughly 2 servings per bag to make it really easy for grabbing for dinner later.  I ended up with 3 bags to throw in the freezer.  I know it doesn’t sound like much, but if I keep it up with a bit extra each week I think we’ll end up with a pretty full freezer before long. That being said, I should probably go clean out some of the freezer burned mystery meat;)

P.S.  I went back and re-made my asparagus with cream sauce for dinner that night too.  Here’s the original post for a refresher.

One thought on “Freezing Asparagus

  1. This is my all time favorite way to preserve food! I dislike the whole process of canning and love to just grab something from the freezer. I do it with fruit and vegetables and whole meals and fresh homemade bread and scones and I could go on and on.

Leave a Reply

