Dessert of the Month/Pinterest Recipe of the month- Strawberry Vodka Collins Popsicles

I’m trying to do a 2 for 1 post to make up for my lack of posting during the month of May.  I’ll do a second post for both in another week or so.  Anywho…

I’ve been seeing popsicles of all kinds all over blogs, pinterst and magazines for quite awhile now and have been itching to try one.  Garden of Egan had some fresh strawberries at the farmer’s market on Saturday so I used that as my starting point for picking out my popsicle recipe.  I chose the Strawberry Peach Vodka Collins Popsicle recipe from EndlessSimmer.com.  I altered a bit since we didn’t have fresh peaches to work with.  I’ll walk you through it as I go.

First up, I started working on flavoring my simple syrup.  We still had quite a bit from making Manhattans a few weeks ago.  I place of the peaches, I picked some mint leaves from the garden and used a pestle to get the flavor to come out of the leaves and into the syrup.  If you can, do this over night at a minimum.  I used about 6 leaves for the 1/4 cup of syrup I used.

With that sitting off to the side I got started on pureeing my strawberries.  The recipe called for about 10 berries but these were a bit on the small side so I ended up using about 15 to reach the 6oz. needed.  I added in the vodka while the strawberries were still in the blender to make sure it was well mixed.

I started dividing my strawberry/vodka mix into my popsicle forms.  They were a little larger than the recipe suggested so I ended up with just 8 popsicles instead of the 12.

Next I pulled the mint leaves out of the simple syrup and added in my tonic water and the remaining vodka.  After a quick stir so make sure it was well blended, I divided the rest of the liquid between the molds and popped it in the fridge.  Then waited until the next evening to pull one out to try.

They tasted pretty good and refreshing.  The vodka wasn’t very strong, and I think you’d probably have to finish the whole 8 before you really felt effects, but they’d be fun to bring to a summer BBQ.   One thing I would change though is the tonic.  I didn’t realize it until after the popsicles were in the fridge but the tonic we had was lime flavored.  The lime flavoring really came out and while it didn’t taste bad it just wasn’t what I was hoping for.  I’ll stick to regular next time.  I was surprised at how well the popsicles held up too.  I thought with the alcohol mixed in it would turn to slush pretty quickly, but it held up about as long as you would expect any other fruity popsicle to.

When these are gone I’ll try a couple other flavor combos.  With all the mint we have growing out back I’m thinking some mojito pops would be about perfect!

One thought on “Dessert of the Month/Pinterest Recipe of the month- Strawberry Vodka Collins Popsicles

  1. MMMMM Those look delicioius! you should check out my Dirty Pirate popsicles on my Pinterest. I haven’t tried them yet.
    That’s strange that they would have you use fresh strawberries AND fresh peaches, they aren’t fresh at the same time! haha

Leave a Reply

