Fresh Herbs

To go with all the fresh raspberries, we’ve had  lots of fresh herbs in the kitchen.  We have rosemary, cilantro, thyme, parsley, basil and mint to pick from.  Basil is a little sad but I’m hoping it picks up.  Cilantro is starting to bolt on us (starting to flower and loose flavor) so I might try and plan a few more seeds to get another round in.

So far I’ve used fresh rosemary to marinate chicken breast (I promise, I cooked it, just to hungry to take a photo)

And thyme sprinkled over roasted potatoes.

I’ve got a few other ideas in the works on how to keep using them.  I want to dry some for sure but I also want to try a few other things, I’ll be sure to share them with you as I go.

Any of you have any fresh herbs in the kitchen lately?  How do you like to use them?

4 thoughts on “Fresh Herbs

  1. I saw on Pinterest that you can take some and mix it with some olive oil and then freeze it in ice cube trays…that way you just take it out and use it!

  2. We try to use fresh herbs in everything! I love a collection of lots of hfresh herbs in baked eggs or a scramble. Our basil is struggling too, but i love it in fresh salsa!
    Our sage is growing like crazy, and we got some ideas from Red Cedar to infuse it in olive oil. And some ideas from Little House on the Shire to infuse the sage blossoms!
    We also made chive blossom vinegar and booze this year.

    • Love the infused olive oil idea, we’ll have to try that and check out Little House on the Shire. Our sage is starting to perk up for us a bit. I’m going to have to look at some of your raspberry ideas too! I’m pretty sure the raspberries are going to take over the side of the garage.

Leave a Reply

