Pinterest Recipe of the Month- Herbs Preserved in Olive Oil

So someone knew exactly what my next step with my herbs was.  I saw this project on TheKitchn.com and knew I had to use it as a way to keep fresh herbs for later into fall.  It’s one of those ‘why didn’t I think of that’ moments.  I used thyme and rosemary since they were both in abundance.  They’re also on the suggested list for freezing this way.  Honestly, it took more time to prep the herbs to put into the ice cube trays more than anything else.  It was really easy.

Prep your herbs.  You can just run your fingers down thyme to strip the leaves from the stem.

Rosemary was a bit more work than that, plus it got a rough chop to make it easier to fit into ice cube trays.

Fill a little past half way with your herbs

Add your olive oil

Wait overnight

Pop them loose

And store for later

We also have plenty of mint in our herb garden.  It’s crawling all over like it owns the place.  So, to put a little bit of a twist on this, I added some fresh mint leaves to regular ice cubes.  I gave it a real rough chop (just to make it easy to fit) before filling a few trays and popping it in the freezer.

Test run in a glass of water has been pretty good.  I think it’ll be a nice addition to lemonade, ice tea or a few drinks just a little bit stronger:)

 

Also, here’s a shameless plug for following me on pinterest.  Lots of food plus some more fun stuff:)

Leave a Reply

