Grandpa and Sweet Corn Ice Cream

Hi All.  So as you may have noticed I’ve been MIA for awhile again.  Unfortunately my quick trip home for a weekend high school reunion turned into an extended stay.  My Grandpa passed away last week and I was home to be with family until about halfway through the week last week.  I spent many weekends and afternoons after school at Grandma and Grandpa’s farm house.  Without a doubt that’s where I (along with other family members) got a taste of real gardening.  They had not only one but two large vegetable gardens, the smaller of the two wouldn’t even fit in my backyard.  On top of that, they had a few berry bushes scattered throughout the back yard and always had a sweet corn patch in the field to make sure we had more than enough corn to freeze and last us through the winter.  I’m talking a 10 seater dining room table stacked with pots and pans of corn cut from the ears and ready to store.  Because of that, I’m sure Grandpa would have gobbled up what I made this weekend.

For my birthday, long time friend bought me the cookbook,The Sunset Edible Garden Cookbook: Fresh, Healthy Cooking from the Garden.  I don’t think I even had it all the way out of the bag and tissue paper before she said, “They have a recipe in there for Sweet Corn Ice Cream! you have to make that!” So, seeing as I had a grocery sack full of fresh from the field corn on the cob from Iowa, I went for it.

We tripled the recipe to make use of more of the corn we had.  The original recipe called for just 2 ears and with the various sizes I had, I ended up using 7. After the corn had been cut from the ears, I popped it in the food processor until it was really smooth.

I combined the milk, cream, and corn per their instructions and let it get to a simmer on the stove.

While that was warming up I separated 12 egg yolks and whipped that up with sugar.  When the cream mixture was simmering, I added in the egg mixture after tempering it first so we didn’t end up with scrambled eggs.

After that had time to thicken on the stove , I poured it into a large bowl and covered with cling wrap.  For anyone new to making ice cream don’t wait for it to reach a real thick consistency, it really just needs to be thick enough you could run your finger down the middle of a spoon and the cream doesn’t run back together.

I let the mix chill in the fridge overnight to make sure it was chilled all the way through.  The next morning I took the cling wrap off the top and stirred in some vanilla extract.

From there it got ladled into our ice cream maker.

I packed the surround of the bucket with layers of ice and rock salt and turned it on.  I checked the ice every 15 minutes or so to make sure the ice cream tin was covered.  We used to have a smaller machine that didn’t have as much space for ice around the outside.  I think that makes a big difference in how long it takes for the ice cream finish up.

After about an hour this is what my ice cream looked like.  Sort of like soft serve.  From there it went into the freezer to ripen for the rest of the day.

We didn’t try it until really late Saturday night but, OH MAN!  So good!  It was like taking the best creamy corn you’ve ever had in your life and then freezing it and adding a pinch of sweet.  I had more on Sunday night and tried it with just a bit of sea salt.  I thought since I like my corn on the cob with butter and salt, it would make it even better.  It was still good but I don’t think it really added anything to it.  We still have the better part of a gallon to eat, and I’m more than ok with that.

4 thoughts on “Grandpa and Sweet Corn Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

