Pinterest Recipe of the Month- Tomato and Goat Cheese Tart

We’ve been starting to get more cherry tomatoes ripening up in the garden over the last couple of weeks, so I’ve been on the look out for a way to use up quite a few and to give us a break from eating them in pasta.  I came across this tart from Martha Stewart on Pinterest and thought I’d give it a shot since it seemed pretty straight forward.  Really, it wasn’t to hard to put together since it uses a store bought pastry dough.  Just a little more work than you’d want for a weeknight meal.

First thing was getting a pastry dough set up.  I defrosted it in the fridge overnight before laying it out and rolling it to a 12″ square.

My ‘square’ pastry dough was anything but.  I liked it though, makes it more rustic that way.

Next up was a sour cream and mustard mix that spread out pretty thin on the dough.  Then I folded over the edges to make a little bit of a raised crust.  I was able to square up my tart a little doing this.

I popped that into the fridge to set up a bit and got started on my leeks. 2 chopped up into fairly thin slices.

I sauteed them in butter for a bit until they were nice and soft.

Then I pulled the dough back out of the fridge and spread my leeks evenly over the tart.

Next I took my cherry tomatoes, halved them, and spread them over the tart.  Then popped the whole thing into the oven.

Look at that, nice and toasty!  The edges of the crust puffed up nicely and the tomatoes roasted up beautifully.

With the baking out of the way, I sprinkled the cheese and some fresh thyme over the whole thing.

We had the tart for lunch both days this weekend.  The tomatoes popped a little in your mouth and combination with the cheese was perfect.  It would be good for a savory brunch or side dish.  Instead of warming it up in the microwave on Sunday, I put the leftovers in the oven.  I think the crust would have gotten soggy in the microwave  I think next time I would try and make something like this when I knew I would be able to finish the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

