mmmMinneapolis Thanksgiving

Hi All!  I hope you all had a good Thanksgiving weekend!

I hosted my first Thanksgiving meal this year and took care of the majority of the meal.  Our Moms helped us out with a couple of salads and appetizers but I was pretty insistent about trying to do it all myself (I’ve got a bit of a stubborn streak I suppose).  I did the usual turkey and mashed potatoes but updated some of the other side dishes, courtesy of Bon Appetite’s Thanksgiving inspiration slide show.  Seriously, look through the pictures on the site and try to not get hungry.

Check out that Turkey!  The bird was ordered through Clancey’s where we usually get our meat for the week.  It was about 14 pounds, free range from a local farm.  It was a great bird but I was thrown off a bit by the giblets and such that were left in the bird.  I remember growing up with the organs and all that wrapped neatly in a plastic bag inside the turkey so you didn’t have to look at it if you didn’t want to.  Long story short, we used a flashlight and shook the bird a few times over the sink to make sure we got everything out.  I’m sure it was pretty funny to see us shaking this huge turkey over a sink:)

We brined the bird for about 6 hours before cooking.  We used one of Hub’s brewing pots to fit the bird, you use about a cup of salt per gallon of water.  You need enough water to cover the bird.  To cook the bird, I followed the advice of a friend at work that used to work in a professional kitchen.  Low heat, overnight, wake up to a finished turkey.  You add in some veggies and butter to the cavity of the turkey to help with the flavor and the juices.  I’ll have to OK it with her before I hand over the full details, but I can tell you it made for a juicy turkey that was perfectly done!

And now for the sides!
First up, Cream Cheese Mashed Potatoes, we’ve made similar versions of this in the past.

Maple-Braised Butternut Squash with Fresh Thyme

Spiced Glazed Carrots with Sherry and Citrus

Slow Roasted Green Beans with Sage

We also had Creamy Corn following a family recipe but somehow I missed getting a close up of it

Now, if that wasn’t enough for you, dessert!  We made a chocolate and apple pie from scratch.  I didn’t get a photo taken of the chocolate before it was dug into, but I’ve got one of the apple for you.  I got the recipe here.  It was the first time I had a successful pie crust on the first go.  I was pretty pumped.  I made the pie the weekend before and froze it for the week raw.  Then that day I took it out and let it bake while we were eating the rest of the meal.

It was a great day and it was a fun experience to do the hosting this year.  By the end of the day we were all stuffed, as we should be.  I’m pretty sure my face looked like this kid’s.

Hope you have a good week and good leftovers!

One thought on “mmmMinneapolis Thanksgiving

  1. Heidi!! I’m so impressed. My Thanksgiving meal experience doesn’t go much beyond the green been casserole. Everything looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

