Where’s my label maker?

Happy 2013!
Hope you all had a good start to your year.  It’s taken me a little while to get back up and running after holiday travel, work starting back up and a fight with the flu (don’t worry, I won).  While I haven’t gotten back on posting regularly I have been doing some work around the kitchen.

When we got back to Minneapolis after the week of Christmas, we tackled #1 on the Winter Project list, organizing the kitchen.  This is what it looked like when we started.

messy cupboard

I know! I know!  What is in there and what do you even have to eat!  I started sorting, pitching and finding containers for all the things in plastic bags.  I’m ashamed to say we had a few empty boxes in there just taking up space.  As we went, we started having ideas of organizing other cupboards and drawers, before you knew it we’d re-organized all but 5 kitchen cupboards and drawers and I loved it.  This is how that cupboard looked at the end of the night.clean cupboard

I know!  You still have nothing to eat!  I’d like to blame it on being out of town for a week but, I think the real problem was we couldn’t see what we had to know what we need.  We have an idea of some things we want to add in as pantry staples and we’ve since bought more snack things.  We organized the cupboard so things we don’t use very often are up on the top shelf, larger bulk items or dry items we can keep a large stock of next, then canned goods (we have enough beans to make chili until July) and finally bulk items we’d go through more quickly with a shorter lifespan(snack things like mixed nuts, chicken broth)

This weekend I’m making nice labels for the plastic and glass containers for everything in there.  I’m also making labels for our new spice drawer and a couple other containers.  It’s kind of ridiculous how excited I am about that part.  I’m already planning on doing a whole post on how great everything looks with shiny, new labels in a beautiful font.  Trust me, you’re gonna love it!

One thought on “Where’s my label maker?

Leave a Reply

