Frozen Goods in Action

Remember how I started freezing vegetables and made these fun little olive oil and herb ice cubes?  Well I’ve been digging in to them lately.  Earlier this week I used a couple of the olive oil and rosemary cubes to make pork chops.

olive oil cubes

They didn’t melt down as quickly as I thought they would, and went from bright oil yellow to almost white in the freezer.

oil cubes and pork chops

I was a little afraid I’d end up with burnt pieces of rosemary but as it melted down and got going it smelled so good!

pork chops and roasted veggies

Success!
On the flip side, I pulled some frozen asparagus out of our deep freeze to make as just an easy, weeknight side.

frozen asparagus

I was a little sad when I dropped them in the dish before the microwave.  The ends of the stalks were looking a little brown and the frozen solid clump was less than appealing.

sad asparagus

After I nuked them they still looked and smelled like asparagus but were a little limp and over cooked.  They tasted fine but wasn’t as exciting or tasty as the fresh we get in the spring.  I think it’ll make me that much more hopeful for ours to start sprouting this spring (fingers crossed).  I’m glad we’re making an effort to keep using what we’ve spent the time preserving. Even with the rocky asparagus experience, it makes me want to figure out better methods for the coming year.

One thought on “Frozen Goods in Action

Leave a Reply

