Storable Crackers

A couple of weekends ago I tried my hand at making some homemade crackers to store in the new pantry.  I used a recipe from my go to book, Jam it, Pickle it, Cure it by Karen Solomon.  The recipe has different flavor options as well as instructions to use the same base recipe to make breadsticks if you’d like.

crackers

I was able to use the food processor to mix up the dough.  First, I did a quick mix of my dry ingredients: flour, sugar, salt and pepper.

crackers 3

After a couple of pulses, I added in an egg and a bit of water.

crackers 4

I pulsed the ingredients until the dough formed large crumbs but would hold together when pinched.

crackers 6

From there, I created a large ball of dough on a floured cutting board.

crackers 7

Next, I cut the dough ball in half and rolled the dough into 12 x 12 squares (roughly) per the instructions.  From there they took a quick pass in the refrigerator for about half an hour.

crackers 8

After the 30 minutes, the recipe instructed me to roll the dough out into 1/4″ – 1/8″ thick sheets.  Well, to roll it out into the 12 x 12 squares, they were already a little less than 1/4″ so instead of wadding the dough back up and re-rolling, I went ahead and started cutting out my crackers. I used my trusty ruler to cut out 1″ x 1″ squares, salted the tops and pierced each square with my fork.

crackers 9

From there, they went right into the oven for about 10 minutes.  The came out slightly browned and puffed up just a bit.

crackers 10

They were a bit heartier than your average Saltine or Ritz cracker.  They almost reminded me of a savory shortbread.  They were filling enough that you only needed a handful to get your fix.  The only downside with these guys is that they only keep for about a week.  We still had about half to get through when they started to go a little stale on us.  I think next time around I’ll keep half on hand and freeze the other half.  According to the book you can keep them frozen for a few months before you have to worry about them.

In other news. We woke up to a inch or two of snow this morning and we’re supposed to get anywhere from 6-10 inches by the end of the day tomorrow.  Blerg.

Leave a Reply

