Poached Egg Scramble

Remember how excited I was about the pretty blue egg I bought at the farmers market?  Well I finally got around to using it.  I didn’t want it to turn in to a mass of scrambled eggs so I tried something new for me and poached it.  I have to admit, poached eggs kind of freak me out.  I’ve tried them before and my mind starts screaming, “YOU’RE EATING A RAW EGG!!”.  However, I’ve always thought they LOOK really creamy and The Hubs loves them.  I don’t have a lot of photos of the cooking process.  Once I got started I was too afraid to take my eyes of the egg to take any pictures, you’ll have to settle for a Before and After.  Here’s my favorite egg, just a pretty, pale, blueish green.  The picture doesn’t do it justice, it makes me want to meet the chicken.

blue green egg

And here’s the after. I lost a bit of the white in the water, I need some more practice.  I added just a bit of butter (not nearly enough according to The Hubs), salt and pepper.  In place of traditional triangles of toast, I opted for dipping bacon.  I’d say it was a pretty good choice.  It tasted just great and as long as I was dipping the bacon the yolk didn’t get to me.

egg with bacon

I made a second one for The Hubs that turned out a little bit better.

Hubs poached egg

He used ‘the correct’ amount of butter with just salt and pepper.  His method is to just mix it all up in the bowl and eat it with a spoon.  I’m not quite ready for that yet.  We used his parents expertise in preparing the eggs. The steps sound easy enough, but it definitely takes some practice and finesse.

 

1. Bring a few inches of water to just about a simmer, you don’t want it to get to a high boil.

2. Crack your egg into a small bowl or coffee cup, I’d say the smaller the better.

3. Use a spoon to make a little whirlpool and slide the egg in.  You’ll probably have a few wisps of whites separate but it’ll be fine.

4. Let the egg sit for about 3-4 minutes.  After some practice you can get an idea of what the right look is, if in doubt go for the full 4.

5. Use a slotted spoon to carefully scoop out the egg and place it in a bowl or on top of your toast.

6. Add butter, salt and pepper and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

