Beet Chips, or The Time I Made a Burned Mess

Yup, I’m not leaving much for surprise at the end in this post.

You may remember a month or so ago when I overcame my childhood disgust for beets with a roasted beet salad.  It made me want to try different ways to use them and I thought a beet chip recipe would be perfect.  I figured it would make me feel a bit healthier eating a large bowl of beet chips rather than potato chips or pretzels.  So I started in.

raw beets

First issue came up rather quickly.  It was my first time using our mandolin (the Hubs bought it special for pickle slicing this summer) and even with the special guard, I had a hard time getting the tough, round beets to slice for me.  They really shredded more than anything else.  I was bound and determined to keep going.  I kept telling myself I’d get it on the next pass.  2 beets later, I hadn’t.

beet shavings

I didn’t want to give up.  I told myself that even though the slices we’re thinner than I thought they would be, I’d set the guide to the right thickness, so it must be right.  Nope.  I popped them in the oven and set the timer for a little bit under the recommended cooking time.  I should have set it for way under the cooking time.  I pulled out the pans and was greeted with crispy, burned chips that had gone from deep purple-y red to charcoal.  Sigh.

burnt chips

Moral of the story, I’m going to spend a little more time figuring out this mandolin and stop myself when I get the feeling that it’s not going to plan.  In the meantime, I’ll stick to my pretzels.

2 thoughts on “Beet Chips, or The Time I Made a Burned Mess

Leave a Reply

